Frugal Life, Vegan Life

The Easiest Chocolate Mousse Ever

EDIT: The original recipe for this mousse can be found here on The Lazy Cat Kitchen (along with some beautiful photos)! I’ve tweaked the recipe a tiny bit, but the link will take you to the original.

 

A little while ago I saved this nifty video on the good old Facebook:

 

Today I decided to finally try and make it! I’m happy to say that it was just as easy as the video makes out. I decided to write about my process, just in case anyone else is wondering exactly how much chocolate to add, like I was.

 

You will need:

  1. the ‘juice’/ brine from a can of chickpeas (also known as aquafaba) – I had saved some from a dinner I made a few days ago.
  2. a block of vegan dark chocolate – I used this one from Coles.

 

To make the mousse: follow the steps in the video above! I combined around 3/4 of my block of chocolate, so roughly 175 grams or 6 oz (I used Google for that conversion, so you may want to double check if you’re in the US). Let set in the fridge for at least an hour. Then, enjoy!

 

This recipe is also pleasingly frugal: the total cost of the chocolate and the chickpeas came to a low $3.25. And then you have leftover chickpeas and chocolate for more cooking later. I think you could easily get four after dinner portions out of this recipe, making it around 80 cents a portion. And it is so rich, deceptively so – my housemates couldn’t believe how incredible this recipe was, let alone that it was vegan. I am a huge chocolate mousse fan and I’m always cooking with chickpeas, so now that I know how easy it is to whip up some mousse, I’ll be sure to keep some chocolate on hand for my leftover aquafaba. Enjoy!

Featured image: Michał Grosicki

Leave a Reply

